Hearing From God: Day Ten

If you have spent time with me you know that I am a quiet person. I am am observer. To me, great joy and understanding comes from listening and watching.

I’ve been a member of my church for almost two years. In that time, I’ve had the privilege to observe the actions of many people. A few months ago I happened to be in a conversation with one of them. A brother by the name of Tyler Walker, a person in which I’ve grown to have much respect for spoke words to me that sang to my spirit.

I asked him this question. “I see you and a few other brothers constantly moving and checking on things during worship, when do you sit down to be fed?”

His response was one that I didn’t expect, but I desperately needed. He said, “I eat at home. I have my study time throughout the day. When I come to church, I come to serve. That is what a son does.”

Wow!  What a response. It made complete since to me because at one point in my life, I did the same thing. I am not certain that I would have given this remarkable answer though. In fact, I am positive that I didn’t even have this enlightened attitude about it. But his response reminded me of an occurrence in the Bible.

John 13:4-5 NIV
so he (Jesus) got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist. After that, he poured water into a basin and began to wash his disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel that was wrapped around him.

There so many things a person can glean from this chapter, but I can’t go into all of them. Jesus was teaching a valuable lesson to His disciples at the time, and the world today. He was teaching that no matter who you are, no matter what position and or title you hold, we are all called to serve. He said in
John 13:15-16 NIV
I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you.  Very truly I tell you, no servant is greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him.

Now watch this!  Jesus even washed the feet of the very person that He KNEW was going to betray Him. In your presence, people will sit that do not have your best interest at heart, but that doesn’t matter. We as sons and daughters of God are to serve regardless, with a well spirit.

There is so much that I can and want to say on this topic, but I will leave you with this. I worked in a restaurant a few years back as a server.  My job was to cater to whomever sat down at the my table. Though in this position, getting tips is the primary goal. However, that didn’t always happen. Still, my job was to serve each table with excellence. I couldn’t choose who I wanted to serve. I couldn’t assume that they would leave a tip. My job was to serve, and to do it well, despite the outcome.

How well do you serve?

Love you, be blessed

AWS
10.15.14

Leave a Reply

