Hearing From God: Day 15 – He’s Watching

Today I get the privilege to spend some alone time with one of my kids. This is something that I always enjoy doing. As I watch both of them grow, I get to see them mimic me. As a result many of my actions have changed.

My son, (who according to others is a spitting image of me) literally does everything that I do. From bobbing his head to music, to attempting to play the drums, to the way he reclines when he is relaxing. Even the things that he hasn’t seen me do in his almost two years on earth, he does because it’s naturally in him. It makes me think of a passage in the book of John.

http://bible.com/111/jhn.5.19-20.niv Jesus gave them this answer: “Very truly I tell you, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does. For the Father loves the Son and shows him all he does. Yes, and he will show him even greater works than these, so that you will be amazed.
Bible.com/app

I’m charged with the responsibility to be an example. It is my job as a father to set the tone of my children’s lives. Knowing this makes hearing from God even more important.

What I do in front of my children affects them and the world around them. So I show them good. I explain to them the bad. Then I teach them better. With the intent that when they are told, “You look/act just like your father,” that it’s meant as a compliment and not a statement of disdain.

Eyes are always on us. What do they see?

Love you, be blessed!

AWS
10.20.14

One thought on “Hearing From God: Day 15 – He’s Watching

  1. This is a word for the nations! I’m not a mother yet, but I do completely agree wholeheartedly with this message. I have told my sisters/brothers this time and time again and I see it in action. It’s crazy what kids pick up, especially so early on. Keep being a great example for you son.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

