Hearing From God: Day 24 – Beyond The Mask

Beyond the mask
Past the picture perfect
Lies the truth
Of a vessel so broken
Of God
I was called to be a man
Yet on the daily
I fail to walk in His plan
In front of so many people
Yourselves included, I stand
Declaring God’s Word
Proclaiming of the I Am that I Am
But in reality
I
Am
Broken
I
Am
Hurting
The truth of the matter is
I
Am
Not
What you see
Or even what you should see
I am supposed to be
A replica of Christ
But unlike the moon
I don’t reflect the Son’s Light
Mirror, mirror on the wall
Can any besides you
See my flaws
Saying all the things
Known to be right
With an undertone
Hidden from your sight
Perceived to be Spiritual
Though if you look close enough
No evidence is visual
And it’s killing my mental
That I continue to
Succumb to my physical
Living life through rituals
Nowhere near
The purity of relational


Beyond the mask
Past the picture perfect
Lies the truth
Of a vessel so broken
People marvel at my exterior
Assuming
There is a matching interior
But in reality
I actually
Feel inferior
The reflection
Of perfection
Is not what I see in the mirror
Nose too long
Mouth too wide
Made in His image
Certainly not I

Beyond the mask
Past the picture perfect
Lies the truth
Of a vessel so broken
Broken
Bro—ken. Clay
Yet you, LORD, are my Father.
I am the clay, you are the potter;
I am all the work of Your hand.
You took my brokenness
Into Your care
Rubbing it
As if it were never there
Making me whole
So that from Your radiance
I can glow
Allowing me to remove
The mask
Letting go
Of what bound my past
Now, much like David
I can rejoice like mad
I am beautiful
I’ve been released
To become the vessel
You’ve created me to be

Love you, Be Blessed!
10.29.14

Leave a Reply

