Hearing From God: Day 52 – My Heart

Those that know me personally, know that writing is the way that I breathe. Yet, I was unable to write yesterday. My heart has been so heavy from the moment the verdict was read in the Mike Brown case. I have so much to say, but formulating what’s in my mind has proven to be a difficult feat. As a result I said nothing. All I could do is pray. Pray for my son and daughter, as well as for our sons and daughters in this world.

Not being able to sleep God placed as scripture in my heart. Matthew 5:4 NLT
God blesses those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

And still with this, I pause. Searching for the correct formulation of my thoughts. I reflect on what comfort truly means. Is it simply the removal of hurt or at least an ease of the pain over a period of time? Or does thus comfort mean that justice will prevail?

And still, I pause.   I can’t say when or even how comfort will come. But I know that it will. In the meantime, let’s hold our babies close. Let’s teach the about the love of self and one another. Let’s teach them that despite our visual differences, we are still one people. Let’s teach our children that an injustice to one is an injustice to all. In time, with effort, we facilitate comfort by instilling the concept oneness. We all matter. We all have value. When we realize this and act upon it, then we can change the world.

Wish I could have been more profound, but I had to share my heart. #WeAreOne

Love you, be blessed!

AWS
11.26.14

Leave a Reply

