Falling Short

Which is worse, disappointing others, or disappointing self?  A very perplexing question, right?  The fact of the matter is, we all will fall short.  We will disappoint someone or oneself at some point in life.  The thought of this, at times can be too much to bear.  Those of you that have read my writings for any length of time may have come across post of me talking about what I want, or what I’m going to do.  I would like to believe that you are both excited and hopeful about my renewed sense of purpose.  Only to find a few weeks later that my promise of future posts are nowhere to be found.  If I have disappointed you, I say from the bottom of my heart, I am sorry.  I too share in that same disappointment of broken promises. 

Still, here I am again, once again making another promise to allow my presence to be present.  If I can be completely transparent with you, I struggle with two things.  I struggle with procrastination and consistency.  Both are detrimental to keeping a promise.  Both prevent any kind of positive growth.  In one of my most popular posts, Growth vs Comfort, I talk about how the decision for growth can be made by us or for us.  When being in our comfort zones becomes too uncomfortable for us we will seek out growth.

This is the exact position that I am in today.  For far too long, I’ve been too stagnant, too laxed in utilizing the gift given me.  The very fact that I am here, means the world has something to benefit from me.  The very fact that you are here, means that the world has something to benefit from you.  Lately, I’ve been asking myself, “Whose life is being stunted, because I’m not doing what I am called to do?”  I know that is a ginormous thought, and I don’t pose the question arrogantly.  If it weren’t for the people in my life doing what they are called to do, there is no telling where or what I’d be today.  The fact of the matter is, we are held accountable for our gifts, for our callings. 

We all fall short.  Though falling short is understandable, we too must understand that there is a cost to it.  And again, that is a heavy thought, but we can’t allow it to weigh us down.  We must accept it and decide to do better.  That decision is where I am at today.  I give each of you permission to hold me accountable.  If you don’t see me, challenge me.  Ask me why I am not being consistent.  Encourage me to not disappoint myself or others.  If you see me falling short, extend your hand to help me back up. 

Love you, be blessed – AWS

Leave a comment