Deac

Donny Hathaway sang the phrase, “I love you in a place where there is no space and time.  As I get older, as I experience more of life, I begin to have a much greater understanding of exactly what that phrase means.  Yesterday, we laid to rest a person that has meant the world to me.  In 2012, things changed to where we weren’t in close proximity to one another as much as we had been throughout my whole entire life.  Yet, while the change was hard, it never changed our relationship.  We just didn’t see each other as much.  We made it a point throughout the years to call from time to time to check on one another.  Just hearing the voice always made my heart smile.  When we did see one another, it was always a handshake morphed into a hug. 

“I love you in a place where there is no space or time.”  We didn’t see each other every day, every week, or every month for that matter.  But no the time apart, no matter the distance in proximity, the love, respect and reverence never dissipated.  In fact, one of the last conversations that we shared with one another, he stated just how proud he was of my brother and I.  He know, because we talked about it in the past, but I don’t think he knew exactly how much we simply wanted to emulate him.  He was legit THE most faithful man I have ever met. 

The way he loved to took care of his wife when she became ill taught us how a true marriage is supposed to be.  For richer or poor, in sickness and health, til death do us part.  Those words weren’t just words to him.  He lived that in front of the world.  Because of that, the young people who grew up around him, found themselves in long strong marriages, all due to his example.

I was a kid when I met him.  From day one, I remember him being the first person to church, and the last to leave.  His love and faithfulness to God, gave him the passion to ensure that everything was in order for others to be able to receive the Word that God had for them.  We (and by we, I mean all of the young people) watched him.  As my brother and I matured and started driving ourselves, we wanted to see if we could beat him to church.  In part, to see just how early he actually arrived.  Secondly, we wanted to take some of the burden off of him.  Needless to say, it took us several attempts just to meet him there, let alone beat him there.  Eventually, after getting up before the rooster sounds, we were able to beat him there.  He was a man, and men are naturally competitive.  So when my brother and I beat him, he congratulated us. Then said, “Keep in mind I get myself together, and then I get my wife together.”  At that point in life, he had to do literally everything for her.  We heard what he said, but didn’t take it as shade or hate, because that was never his nature.  Instead, we took it as a lesson.  Let nothing get in the way of your responsibilities.  Because of that and so many other lessons that he taught all from doing and being constant, my brother and I (and others) grew into greater men. 

It’s funny, I could write a series of books and stories from the lessons that he taught.  But as I go back to the beginning, space and time can never conquer love.  My wife speaks on the church the developed me.  She says, I’ve never seen anything like it.  You all can go months, even years without being around each other, but the minute something happens, you all pull together and never miss a beat.  She’s right.  I believe that came from the example that he displayed that touched everyone.  For richer or poorer.  In sickness and health.  Deac, I’m grateful for the time.  I’m grateful for the lessons.  I’m grateful for the love.  This and more is all the things I would say, if I could get myself together.  Rest assured, the seeds you’ve planted have bloomed into a bountiful harvest.  God used your time here on earth to change the world.  Even in your physical absence, my hope is to still make you proud.  Love you more than words could ever express!

Leave a comment